Home > Unity > Unity Books

Unity Books

I seem to have approached my Unity education backwards.

I recently completed Will Goldstone’s book, Unity Game Development Essentials.

I’ve now moved on to Unity 3D Game Development by Example by Ryan Creighton.

Or at least, I thought I was moving on – actually, Creighton’s book seems to be the more basic one! It covers the basics of coding better than Goldstone’s book, starting with writing one line and changing one variable, then repeatedly checking to make sure you understand what you just did.

Still, I think I might recommend approaching it the way I did. Goldstone’s book allowed me to build a complete 3D game quickly, which was a great confidence booster. Now, I’m ready to dive into Creighton’s book, and actually understand what I’m doing.

By the by, I recommend Unity 3D. It’s been a great tool thus far.

Categories: Unity Tags: ,
  1. Will Goldstone
    December 18, 2010 at 6:06 am

    Hi Barry thanks for the mention! I agree I need some additional precursor lead into coding towards the start of my book- currently working on my second editon to do this, update and add new content for version 3.x, should be ready around April time.

    Thanks again

    Will

  2. December 19, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Thanks for the comment, Will! Once I finish Unity 3D Game Development by Example, I should write up a whole review of both books. I think they complement each other well.

    I’m glad to hear you’re updating your book to Unity 3! I didn’t find anything that was a blocker (I was working in Unity 3), but it’s always nice when the instructions and the program agree 100%.

    For an intro into coding, I think one of the strengths of Creighton’s book is that he teaches how to think about writing new code, and how to search and use the Unity scripting reference. Unity Game Development Essentials does a good job of explaining how the code works after it’s been written, but when I tried to fire up a blank script and write my own code, I had trouble getting started, and figuring out whether the ideas I had were variables, functions, components, or something else.
    In other words, you might not need to do a full Unityscript tutorial from step 1, as long as you can teach the user to understand how Unityscript works, and empower them to think of the right questions and find their own answers.

  3. December 19, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Hi Barry, I totally agree – this is an issue I’ve attempted to tackle with my site http://www.Unity3DStudent.com, its a site I did as part of teaching research, see http://www.willgoldstone.com/exhibition for more details. I’ll be working the result of that research into the earlier parts of the second edition of my book, and also perhaps picking that up at the end of the book to get people launched into their own ideas as you say. Thanks again for your thoughts I really appreciate it 🙂

    • December 30, 2010 at 3:30 pm

      Unity3DStudent is a fantastic site. I’m just starting to browse the Essential tutorials, but I think these short lessons will align with my learning style really well. I can pick up and master a few things each night, and I’ll be ready to tackle the challenges pretty soon. I’m quickly learning that making games is both immensely rewarding and frustratingly complex, but I’m getting a little better with each attempt.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

