Home > Game Design > Publishing Levels in LittleBigPlanet 2

Publishing Levels in LittleBigPlanet 2

LittleBigPlanet 2 has been a pretty amazing experience. I’ve designed, built, and published three levels so far. Between them, they’ve collected maybe twenty plays. Still…that’s pretty awesome. My work has given a few random people a minute or two of entertainment.

 

The first level I made was for Valentine’s Day, called Valentine’s Day Skeet Shoot. You jump in a turret and shoot down pictures of myself and my wife – it’s all very lovely. I think this level is a great example of how it can sometimes take constraints and restrictions to get you to finally pull the trigger and do something good. I had a very strict time limit for this one: my wife was out of the house for about five hours, and I couldn’t put it off, because I wanted to get it done for Valentine’s Day. So with that deadline looming over me (and a friend’s help placing decorations) I figured out the logic, built the level, and published it.

It was a few moments later, when a pin popped up stating “5 plays!” That it really hit me – people were playing my level! And most of them were liking it!

 

A week or two later, I sat down and built Cat Tank versus Space Wolves. I just wanted to try out some stuff with LBP2, but I approached it with a very different philosophy than usual. Instead of saying “I’m going to mess around with some stuff, then delete it all and forget about it,” I decided “I’m going to mess around with some stuff, then work out the bugs, make it a playable level, and publish it.”

It’s not a good level by any sense of the word, but it’s playable, and it’s out there in the wild now!

 

The last level I made is the one that I’m proudest of: The Monty Hall Problem. It’s a full implementation of the classic Monty Hall probability puzzle in LittleBigPlanet 2, with an explanation of the problem, buttons that allow the player to move through the game one step at a time, and counters to keep track of the player’s wins and losses based on their strategy. It’s complete, (hopefully) bug-free, and hopefully it’ll teach someone on the internet a little bit about probability. I wish there were a better way to type out a lot of information in LBP2. You can do a few sentences at a time, but not enough to fully explain a complicated logic problem. Maybe someone will make a comment on the level, telling me that I’m crazy and the probability is 1/2 – that’s always a great conversation-starter.

 

So now I’m looking around to see what I want to do next. Conway’s Game of Life? (Been done, but maybe I can do it better.) Or some other probability puzzle? One way or another, it’s pretty exciting to be playing, creating, and sharing, even if it is limited to one game on the PS3.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

