Home > Role Playing Games > Monte Cook

Monte Cook

I’m following some of the discussion on RPG.net about Monte Cook working on Dungeons and Dragons. (Although the exact nature is still kind of vague – people are guessing anywhere from ‘writing a weekly column’ to ‘creative director for the entire D&D line.’)

There’s a lot of attempts to pigeonhole him. Because he wrote some magic-focused supplements, he’s going to boost the power level of magic in Fourth Edition and unbalance the game. He’s going to make it more like 3rd Edition, or 2nd Edition, or Ptolus, or anything else he’s worked on. All kinds of guesses.

My personal theory is that Monte Cook is a professional. I assume he’ll take the projects assigned to him and complete them to the best of his ability. I know I’d be upset if people took my entire career up to this point and assumed that was all that I was ever capable of doing.

  1. September 22, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    That’s a pretty reasonable take on the situation. Are you sure you meant to post that on the Internet and not some, I don’t know, place where people write well-considered, reasonable things? (And if you know where that place is, will you tell me?)

    Thanks,

    Monte

  2. September 22, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    I’m afraid I don’t know where that reasonable place is, I just end up stumbling across it on rare occasions.

    I think my level-headedness comes from my experiences at Kabam being involved in a lot of the hiring processes for Community Managers. I’ve had a few resumes come across my desk with names I recognize; minor celebrities from podcasts or Starcraft commentating or such.

    It made me realize that, whether we’re well-known or just starting our careers, we all want to have a decent position doing something we can be proud of, and we want to do a good job at it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

