Home > Uncategorized > Running a Server

Running a Server

I started running a Terraria server yesterday. When I came home and logged into the game, I was thrilled to see that a friend was there already, playing in my world!

It was a really interesting feeling, to think that my friends could be accessing my computer at any moment, playing in this world I’ve created for them. At any time, the media server in the corner could be full of life, stories, and character.

I always seem to have trouble organizing a multiplayer game – choosing a game, announcing a time ahead of time, making sure everyone is updated, and then probably playing for an hour or so before someone has to leave and the group falls apart. A server like this is such an interesting idea…the game is always up, people can join or leave as they see fit, and yet we all get to see the permanent changes that have been made.

So, I know about Terraria and Minecraft. Any other communal creativity games that I should think about hosting?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. January 24, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Actually, I was thinking of that just this morning. I have no idea how heavy running a MU* would be (Mux, Mush, Muck, etc). Back in the late 90’s, they were considered heavy, but with the leaps and bounds in technology, and the fact that MU*’s aren’t as popular as they once were, I would think hosting one would be easier nowadays.
    That made me eager to get Amara running again. But that’s my suggestion.

    • January 24, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Sounds very doable! Look around and see what’s available as far as modern software.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

